401 MAIN STREET
BYRON, GA 31008
High-risk drivers who make a habit of ignoring posted speed limits pay the price under the Georgia Super Speeder Law (HB160).
The law tacks on another $200 state fee for any driver convicted of speeding at 75mph or faster on any two-lane roads or convicted of speeding at 85mph or faster anywhere in Georgia. Those state fees are in addition to any local fines already in effect in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurs.
Any driver convicted of violating HB160 is classified by the state as a Super Speeder and subject to the additional fee. The law was designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who’ve been endangering other motorists and ignoring warnings to slow down. On average, there’s a speed-related death every day in Georgia!
The Super Speeder Law established the state fees to help police put the brakes on Georgia’s dangerous and illegal speeders. Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee results in an additional $50 fee and the suspension of the offender’s driving privileges and license.
Fees collected under the Super Speeder Law are used to help fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system where approximately 60-percent of all trauma care patients are crash-related. Super Speeders help pay for the hospital beds where their crash-victims are being treated.
Drivers need to remember there are safety reasons for posted speed limits. Any time motorists drive at illegal speeds they put themselves, their passengers and others at tremendous risk. Crash forces double on impact with every 10 mph increase in speed above 50. Speed reduces the amount of available time needed to avoid a crash. Georgia’s Super Speeder Law and fees went into effect January 1, 2010.